Purchased bike Need help fixing ( I’m a newbie )

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Shubz

Hi just got a giant allux technology 3 roam bike . But there is some tlc needed with the brakes . Any suggestions or help where I could get parts and what parts to get ? Any assistance would be appreciated . :smile: would like to do it myself as Of the lockdown give me something to do other then watch news .

Attachments

• A389D7D7-C566-434F-AA05-618937D959CA.jpeg
    A389D7D7-C566-434F-AA05-618937D959CA.jpeg
    71.7 KB · Views: 29
  • F8FA4123-B8C3-4774-8114-DB821F6BE779.jpeg
    F8FA4123-B8C3-4774-8114-DB821F6BE779.jpeg
    68.3 KB · Views: 25
  • 38BBF10B-282D-4600-BBF4-FCC3E10280B9.jpeg
    38BBF10B-282D-4600-BBF4-FCC3E10280B9.jpeg
    76.8 KB · Views: 26
  • B629DECD-985F-4689-AE12-925C9DAB057C.jpeg
    B629DECD-985F-4689-AE12-925C9DAB057C.jpeg
    86.8 KB · Views: 31
  • 5AA74898-8038-4F5E-BAA5-A0DBC2E62D3E.jpeg
    5AA74898-8038-4F5E-BAA5-A0DBC2E62D3E.jpeg
    170.6 KB · Views: 27

C R

Guru
Hi just got a giant allux technology 3 roam bike . But there is some tlc needed with the brakes . Any suggestions or help where I could get parts and what parts to get ? Any assistance would be appreciated . :smile: would like to do it myself as Of the lockdown give me something to do other then watch news .
For the front you seem to be missing one of the caliper arms. Those are V brakes, so you will need a V brake set, something like this

View: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00OP4AMDC/ref=sspa_mw_detail_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Which has front and rear, but price wise you probably won't save a lot by just getting the front. You will also need two brake cable sets, given the state I would replace inners and outers.

You also seem to be missing the front gear cable, goes from the left shifter to the front derailleur.

Hope this helps.

Cycleops

Legendary Member