Question about inner tubes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bikenoob

Hi, apologies for the dumb question but I'm new to this. I need to buy some new inner tubes for my bike (Giant Hybrid). Tyres are 700 x 32C (32-622). I've been looking and noticed that alot of the inner tubes seem to have a range e.g. 700c x 28/35. Do I need to find one that is exactly 700x32c? Is also don't know anything about inner tubes so can some-one suggest a reasonable brand?

Many thanks.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
No you don’t have to have the exact size tube to suit, the ones you mention will be fine.
I’ve purchased lots of different branded ones over the years, never really had an issue with any.

andrew_s

Legendary Member
There's quite a lot of leeway.

If the tube says it's narrower than the tyre (like @nickyboy's 18-23 tubes in a 25 tyre), it will just stretch to fit.
If it's a smaller diameter (like a 650c tube in a 700c tyre) or a couple of sizes bigger than the tyre (35-40 tube in a 28 tyre), it will be difficult to fit without it getting trapped under the bead, which can allow it to burst out as you pump the tyre.

Smaller tubes are lighter, probably very slightly faster, and take up less space in your saddle pack, but if you do puncture, the tyre will go flat pretty quickly. If you don't stop before the tyre is completely flat, you can get a snakebite in addition to the original puncture, which makes both realising that there is an original puncture, and finding the cause of it, more difficult. If you don't find the cause, the chances are good that you'll have another puncture in a few miles.

Larger tubes are heavier, bulkier, probably a bit slower, but if you puncture the unstretched tube will often go flat slower (giving you chance to stop before it's completely flat), and sometimes (with thorns, usually) it leaks slowly enough that you can ride home without doing more than pumping a bit.