Question about pedals

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TwoInTow

A year or two ago we bought a Hase Pino, and to date it has mostly been used with my daughter on the front. Now she has finally graduated to her own bike for longer rides, and my husband and I are getting the chance to use the Pino for us! So far I have just worn normal shoes (I'm on the front) but I think it's not very efficient - I sort of have to concentrate to keep my feet on the pedals after a while, and I think I'm not pushing as hard as I might be.

So what's the best thing on the front pedals, do you think? Cleats? I have mountain-bike-style shoes with cleats that I use on my normal bike. Or is some sort of other clip best? Does it make much difference or do I just need to adapt?

I'm completely new at recumbent pedalling so advice is appreciated.

BenM

Veteran
I have Shimano M324s on the Orca.

There are other makes of pedal of course and other models in the Shimano range if you are that way inclined. They do very well aside from a squeak and my feet don't fall off the pedals (mind you I don't half notice it when I ride the bike without clipping in - especially up hill; I pull back quite a lot on the pedals apparently!)

B.

henshaw11

Whatever you're using on the mtb should be fine, there's no reason to use any particular type of clipless pedal other than personal preference and comfort.

Using clipless is certainly safer, you're more likely to slip off without 'em if you're putting in much effort.

Arch

Married to Night Train
Use whatever you have and are used to. I've got SPDs on the trike. And as a stoker, you don't even have to think about unclipping to stop, assuming your husband can hold the machine up ok.

Definitely better to have cleats on a recumbent - apart from the power aspect (which is minimal for me!) it's safer and more relaxing to have your feet held to the pedals.