Rear wheel for smart trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tonypinkney

I wonder if I could ask for some help please?

I'm quite new to cycling having taken it up again at the start of 2020. I own this bike. I have a Wahoo Kickr Snap smart trainer (wheel on, I think is the correct terminology). I've read some reviews that suggest it may be better to have a dedicated wheel and tyre for the trainer and keep a regular wheel/tyre combo for out on the road. I think I would like to do this.

Would anyone be able to provide any recommendations as to what rear wheel I might consider? (I think I have an idea of tyres and sizing), it is the rear wheel which confuses me a little. I think I need an 11 speed rear wheel?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

BurningLegs

Veteran
I would not recommend a dedicated trainer wheel, or even tyre. Why would you need to?

The wheel on your bike is perfectly suited to use on a turbo trainer, and the tyre would be okay but you might want to consider changing it for a slick tyre to reduce the noise if that is an issue :smile:

It's a lot of money to spend on a wheel, cassette, turbo tyre and tube just to save a bit of wear on a tyre.

If you had knobbly tyres then it makes a bit more sense but it would still be easier to swap to a smooth tyre.

And yes QR skewers are interchangeable so you can use the one provided with the turbo.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
I used a spare wheel because I had one, but the turbo bike has had a refurb, so I'm going to use the road wheel. So long as the roller isn't too tight, there is no reason not to. Having looked at a tyre thats been on the turbo the last 5 years, there is no wear on it, and its a normal tyre.

You may want to use the QR that comes with the turbo as it will hold the axel more secure.

si_c

Guru