Road orientated Gravel Bike / E-Gravel Bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cookster3

So it is time to upgrade my 15 year old Scott MTB to a more suitable bike for my needs. I am a novice/heavy set/road/track biker in my forties and am looking for a bike that will be used mostly on road but can handle the odd off road excursion.

Not to make things too easy I am also considering an electric option but ideally one that does not compromise the bike performance when switched off.

I would like the bike to be nimble, lightweight and comfortable. Does such a bike exist, it sounds like holy grail territory!

My list so far:

Ribble CGR Al e SRAM
Cairn Cycles E-Adventure 1.0
Orbea Gain
Planet X On-One Space Chicken SRAM Force 1 Gravel Bike

I'm really wrestling with the whole electric bike dilemma. I'm sick of being passed by everyone on my MTB and want that road bike feel. I am sure a more road orientated bike will give me that feel & speed I am looking for but I feel I may regret not having gone electric in future. Hence my desire to have it in the locker but not inhibit when switched off.

Any advice appreciated :smile:

https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/ribble-cgr-58cm.265235/#post-6090350

Is this of any interest to you? Still available.

vickster

Legendary Member
No electric bikes are lightweight compared to non-e (even if you don’t ever use the battery).
if you dont want electric now, just buy a normal bike that meets your spec and change to e in the future (they will inevitably get lighter and better as the tech develops)