Rookie needs help!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KQuinn

Hi Guys,

I am a complete beginner, got my new shiny bike and I am determined to get on the roads asap. I got clipless pedals, and fell in a pile the first chance I got. That was yesterday. I actually hurt myself a good bit. Still went for a lil spin, but now I am scared of it happening again, and keep thinking, that maybe I should get flat pedals, until I get used to the bike and riding in general????

What do you think? Did you guys start on flat pedals, and swapped later when you were more confident, or did you go straight onto clipless? I got the clipless on the advice of a quite experienced cyclist, but I'm not sure what to do.

Thanks for taking time to read my message, I really hope to get some help here...
x
K

Keith Oates

Janner
If you are a completely new person to cycling then using flat pedals until you feel more confident in riding the bike will probably be a good idea. Then when your are confident in actually riding the bike change back to clipless.

Get flats then convert or spend some time leaning against a lampost and clipping and unclipping before then rolling around the block and very deliberately practising unclipping until it becomes 2nd nature.

nappadang

Über Member
If you've already got pedals and shoes, you'll not have to shell out later on, so that's a bonus. You will appreciate them in time, trust me.
In the short term, I think you're right, a cheap set of flats (possibly with toe clips) would be a better starting point. Build your confidence on the bike then try your clipless set up again.
Good luck, whatever you decide.

Mo1959

Legendary Member
Hi Guys,