Route anomilies

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
I am new to audax and have just been looking at a route that has just been published for an upcoming 200.

I have noticed that there are some anomilies in the mapping. Is this a regular audax thing, or should I let the organiser know?

Here is an example

Screenshot_20190303-215829.jpg

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
It's the kind of thing that happens when a ridden, live-recorded track is used. I always plot mine on the screen. But it shouldn't cause too many problems for the riders. You can always edit out the extraneous bits. I find it useful to check any 3rd-party files and edit as necessary.

Aravis

Putrid Donut
On the few Audaxes I've entered, I've also been surprised to see things like this. It's all too easy to create unwanted spurs when plotting routes in RideWithGPS, and before loading onto my GPS I always scrutinize the result very carefully to remove them. Bizarrely, on the last Audax I entered (I didn't start in the end due to the extreme heat) the supplied route was largely accurate, but reversed.

Personally I would always create my own version of a route, mirroring (and correcting as necessary) what has been supplied. I'm then confident it will work with my equipment, something I couldn't know if I were to use someone else's file created by methods unknown. If this is what people typically do, then it doesn't really matter if the organiser's version contains anomalies, provided the intention is clear.

OP
OP
steveindenmark

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Aravis. I am currently planning my Transcontinental Race with RWGPS and you are right. It behaves itself most of the time but does kick off these little spurs for no reason. Sometimes it will add a large spur. It means going over a 4000km route again and again with a very fine eye. Im sure I will still get caught out. You get to see mistakes very quickly.

Aravis

Putrid Donut