Ruined tyres?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

chris-s

I was giving the bike a clean after the riding the Dartmoor Classic at the weekend and noticed the state of the tyres. I'm not really experienced enough to know whether this sort of damage/wear/whatever is acceptable or not, particularly with a triathlon this coming weekend.

The tyres are schwalbe ultremo R1, new in April, I can't be sure of the mileage, thought I wrote it down but no more than 400-500 max.

The first photo shows some sidewall damage to one of the tyres, which I would expect means it's scrap, this damage was what made me take a closer look to see all the other splits/cracks/trailing rayon in both tyres.

7b1bf716.jpg

1866a99f.jpg

e36cd5b2.jpg

29fbfeb2.jpg

2f32b8b5.jpg

53cbe436.jpg

4a974141.jpg

martint235

Dog on a bike
It's hard to tell from the pictures. Can you see through the rubber or is it just a cut in the outer surface? The top photo looks the worst, I can't see anything in the others that would bother me unduly, just very carefully cut the bit off in picture 3.

Sheldon Brown has a long article on tyres that may be of interest (here)

FWIW I complained to Schwalbe last year after some R's that I had cut up badly after 200 miles. The guy I spoke to, probably quite rightly, told me that these are their racing tyres and as such aren't really designed for lots of miles. He did kindly replace them but I wouldn't count on them always doing the same.

Also I've noticed that my R1s are definitely allergic to rain, go out in rain, puncture, sometimes twice!! I rarely use them now although I do like the way the bike performs with them on.

OP
OP
C

chris-s