Rural road riding advice - And A545?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ethan

Hello chaps.
I'm new to this cycling lark (well, 8 months into this cycling lark) and up till now the majority of my riding has been done on the lovely scenic roads of Manchester (:rolleyes:) which are busy, congested, full of idiots and pot holes - which has been enough to put a smile on my face so far!
But I'm lucky enough to get a little over 4 months off university - And I'm off home to Anglesey!

I'm just looking for tips on rural road cycling.
Many of the roads are single lane jobbies, with bushes on either side. Some very steep and slow climbs, and lovely decent when you have to resist the urge to let go of the brakes and go for it due to the amount of blind corners.
I'm pretty confident in busy traffic, but Im not sure how to translate that into keeping safe on rural roads.
I'll also be riding the A545 or the 'Garth bends' as they are known (which I've done once already - Its the road from Menai bridge to Beaumaris) a fair bit! Anyone here done it? I know its a log shot but it'd be interesting to know your experience.
It's a very narrow, twisty road that hugs the coast line - Its a fast one in winter but in summer it slows considerably due to the amount of coaches/motor homes with tourists driving an alien road.
It's got some lovely corners, and a great road surface on the whole. To give you an idea http://goo.gl/maps/28oG
Any tips for this sort of road too

Cheers for the help!
Can't wait to get back in my lycra :laugh: http://goo.gl/maps/28oG

Globalti

Legendary Member
Avoid that coast road and head inland for peaceful, empty roads.

The only advice I can offer is that where roads are breaking up gravel will collect on corners; watch out and plan your line if cornering fast. As for other road users, always assume there will be something coming round that blind bend.

Recycler