Rust Prevention and other stuff

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hms

Regular
Hi guys 'n gals,
newbie here, having just got my first Brompton, not having cycled for at least the last 50 years! Want to use it in the commute to and from work, in good weather. 5 miles each way.
Anyway, the bike is new to me, but a 2015 model with low mileage. Obviously I want to keep it as nice a possible. Has anyone used Waxoyl to protect the insides of any frame tubes, forks etc.
Apparently Waxoyl will kill existing rust as well as prevent new rust.
Is Waxoyl a good or bad idea?

Ikea Dimpna? bag.
Read about this on the forum as a good cheap storage bag, having a small two seat sports car, I needed a bag I could put the Brompton into and put on the front seat, providing protection for the bike and car.
Ikea have small doormats at the princely price of 60p each, 4 of them will provide protection to the sides of the bag. Cut and stuck in with double sided tape, and the job, as they say, is a good 'un.

Brooks saddles.
Are there any ways to quicken the saddle becoming comfy?

Thanks in advance guys 'n gals.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
I have used waxoyl inside my old universal Riviera Sports. Not sure if it has worked but the bike hasn't fallen apart yet!

There are various suggested ways to break in a Brooks but anything other than Proofide may invalidate the guarantees.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
I don't see any great harm. It'll only work where you can get in the tubes anyhow.
I think the case for rust in tubes is generally overstated, Brompton tubes are pretty damn hefty anyhow so would need pretty unimaginable abuse to rust through. Look at the number of 50+ year old frames that get restored without any issues with internal or external rust.