Servicing Wheel Bearings

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CharleyFarley

Perhaps everyone here is informed about greasing wheel bearings; I'm still learning.

Almost three years ago I bought a new cruiser from a bike shop. I had put 600 miles on it when, one evening as I rolled it out for a ride, it didn't want to roll. I lifted up the front end and spun the wheel, and it almost immediately stopped. Same with the back wheel. The ball bearings were shot. I cleaned it out all and put new ball bearings in, using White Lightning crystal grease specially formulated for bikes.

Since then I've put another 3,100 miles on the bike, and I wondered about servicing the bearings. Lifting up the front end, the wheel turned easily. Not knowing how often the bearings should be greased I decided to do them whether needed or not. After removing the front wheel I turned the axle by hand and found it 'grumbled' around. Evidently it was very much in need of servicing.

Having done that I searched for info on how often bearings should be cleaned and greased. I found a website where the author said it should be done every year. I was hoping to learn how many miles it should be between services. Anyway, I now know that 3,000 miles is too many, even just riding dry pavement. I also know that just spinning a wheel doesn't tell me enough about the condition of the ball bearings. Perhaps in 18 months (1,500) miles I'll check them again.

Ajax Bay

Guru
What sort of hubs are they (Make/model)? How could you tell the "bearings were shot"?
"Lifting up the front end, the wheel turned easily. . . . Evidently it was very much in need of servicing." I would have thought that the persuasive evidence should be how the wheel (hub under compression from the QR) turned, not what it felt like after removal.
It sounds, to me, as if you are overthinking this, and overdoing it. But your hubs will be top notch.

oldwheels

Legendary Member