Seven / eight speed - ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simongt

Guru
Eldest son bought a cheap MTB a few months ago. He took it to a LBS to get the gears checked over and all is generally okay apart from the gears slipping occasionally. Now the shifter and cassette are both eight speed, but the LBS says that the changer is a seven speed, so the occasional slipping is to be expected.
Now, I'm no expert on derailleurs, so can anyone enlighten us as to what the LBS manny means please - ?

raleighnut

Legendary Member
You need to fit a new 8 speed shifter.

I don't think that's how that works.

The derailleur works on having a limit of movement which you can set with the + and - screws to stop it going too far towards the spokes and taking the chain off the top or taking it too far the other way, off the bottom of the smallest cog.

the amount of movement is controlled by the shifter pulling the cable, if the cable tension is not correct it won't shift properly, easiest re-set by putting the bike in the smallest gear (cable at it's slackest) and then tightening the cable at the cable clamp, then tweaking using the barrel adjuster.

7&8 speed derailleurs are, as far as I am aware, pretty much the same, I've paid little attention to the spec when buying and fitting over the years, the spacing on the 'block' of gears is pretty much the same also.

9 speed (and that new fangled 10 speed, which is just wrong I tell thee!) however, the gears sit slightly closer together and as such the chain is also narrower - so you'd need a 9 speed (or 10 speed) matched set up.

U

User6179

1. Shimano
6, 7, 8 and 9 speeds
Rear shift ratio is 1.7, that is for 1 mm of cable pull/release, RD is moved left/right by 1.7 mm. Shimano calls this 2:1 ratio for marketing reasons.