Shop to avoid

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
I dont knock halfords as i usually get compentent service from them but on this occasion i have to , this is a copy of an email i just sent to head office about their Swadlincote branch .

last Saturday i picked up my new boardman team carbon from halfords stores and at first glance it looked ok .On my second ride i found out it would not get 1st gear as the low stop on the rear deraillier had not been set correctly and today i noticed that the adjuster from rear cable tension looked odd.On further inspection it had been screwed so far out by whoever set up the gears initially that it was only just in the hole and at an angle.This could have fell off at any time potentially damaging the deraillier, mech hanger, wheels or even the frame .As i have been servicing my own bikes for many years i was able to disconnect the cable, screw in the adjuster correctly which gave m a good 3 mm of cable that had not been pulled far enough when the bike was set up.
I am frankly disgusted with this level of service, when i raised the 1st issue in store i was fobbed off with a " well it can be different on the stand "

Milkfloat

An Peanut
Without trying to sound like an arse (but probably failing). You should probably have proof read it before you sent it. Personally, I would have suggested a way that they could resolve the situation, for example, promising staff training.

Lonestar

Veteran
Although I don't use Halfords they aren't the only bike shop to make a mistake.One of my work colleagues recently had an accident because the shop which repaired his bike did not fit the front mudguard back correctly.

derrick

The Glue that binds us together.