Should I change my Aero wheels for something lighter?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

NorvernRob

Afternoon all

I've been pondering about this for a week or two now and don't know what to do!

My bike came with Planet X 52mm carbon/alloy clinchers. They look great and the bike feels good, but...I live in Sheffield and an average ride in any direction has between 80 and 100ft of climbing per mile, with plenty of steep stuff in there.

I'm a relative beginner but reasonably fit and improving quickly on the bike, what I'm trying to decide is if it would make any difference on the hills (both short and long term as I improve more) if I changed the wheels to a lower profile, light alu set. I've been looking at things like Fulcrum Racing 3, or at a push I could go for Mavic Krysium Elite which seem to get many recommendations.

If it won't make much difference at any stage then I won't bother, but any reasonable gain and I would probably change.

This is the bike as of now: I know the profile isn't massively deep, but is that carbon just a waste when at least half my riding is uphill?

29AE3BE0-56CE-4525-9E90-5D12BA35B0A8_zpskxg5xwxl.jpg

Thanks for any advice

Rob

Attachments

• 29AE3BE0-56CE-4525-9E90-5D12BA35B0A8_zpskxg5xwxl.jpg
    29AE3BE0-56CE-4525-9E90-5D12BA35B0A8_zpskxg5xwxl.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 25

SteCenturion

I am your Father
What do your wheels weigh now ?

It is possible to get Aero wheels at 58mm under 1650g but they come with a big price tag.

Been looking into this myself.

OP
OP
N

NorvernRob

What do your wheels weigh now ?

It is possible to get Aero wheels at 58mm under 1650g but they come with a big price tag.

Been looking into this myself.