Should I get a fixie?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jayhawk

Or single speed? As a complete newbie, I have lots of questions. Here are a few. I like the idea due to the simplicity firstly. How do I try it? I have a mountain bike in the shed. Can I try riding it in a fixed gear to try to get an idea? Very wide tyres of course. I should add that it's only road riding I'm interested in. Would the wide tyres give a false impression of the gear ratio I'm using? I'm guessing yes, but is it significant? Lastly, I live in a rural undulating/hilly area. Is this the wrong idea? Should I go for the multi geared option? I should add that I don't always like things easy and want part of this to exercise.
Remember, newbie, first post so please be gentle;)

kyuss

Veteran
Simple answer is maybe. If you are planning on putting in lots of miles in undulating terrain to improve your fitness, then maybe a geared bike might be a better solution, especially if road riding and big distances are new to you. It might be a bit more fun that way. Even after 15 years+ in the saddle, if I'm planning on doing any decent distance (20-30miles+) then I always take the geared bike. Fixed wheel and singlespeed are great about town, for short blasts in the country and for crazy audaxers who enjoy pain. They do force you to get fit though.

Riding your mountain bike in one gear will give you an idea of how a singlespeed would feel, and the tyres will only really effect your speed, not necessarily the experience (hard to say how it would effect the gearing).

Going fixed is a whole different beast however, and IMO if you are going to give one gear a shot, go the whole way and make it fixed. It really is a different experience, and a good one at that. Strangely, it feels a bit easier on hills to a singlespeed with the same gear. A bit more efficient on the way up, but obviously without the ability to rest properly on the way down.