Shower leaking into wall...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Over the weekend I noticed there was some mould on the wall in my little apartment. This is not entirely unexpected: it's a basement apartment and has a history of mould in certain conditions, so I cleaned it until the wall was white again and made a not to tell the landlady if it reappeared too soon. That was on Saturday:

Leaky_Shower_001.jpg

This was this afternoon, about 5 days later.

Worse, this is what is on the other side of said wall:

Leaky_Shower_002.jpg

On closer inspection with the Landlady, we discovered that silicon in the corner isn't in contact with the shower base:

Leaky_Shower_003.jpg

Being a mere carpenter I have no idea what you do in this situation. Obviously we need to get someone who knows about these things to sort it out: that's a given.

But what can we do in the sort term: can we reseal the shower as an emergency measure, until we can get hold of an expert, to save me using the Landlady's guest shower, or will that make the problem worse?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
You might actually have a leak with the concealed taps.

Whilst all this 'covered' stuff looks fabulous, it's a farkin pain when, not if, something needs maintaining.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
All the pipes in the wall for taps - we usually have them on the bath, so can get to them by removing the bath panel. You may have a tiny pipe fracture or hole. We had a microscopic hole appear in a cold water feed above the ceiling for our downstairs loo - made a right mess. You couldn't even see the hole.

All the pipes in the wall for taps - we usually have them on the bath, so can get to them by removing the bath panel. You may have a tiny pipe fracture or hole. We had a microscopic hole appear in a cold water feed above the ceiling for our downstairs loo - made a right mess. You couldn't even see the hole.