So is a Sportive a Race or Not?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ExRacer

I'm fairly new to Sportives and have been onto BikeRadar and www.cyclosport.org. There's seems to be a battle going on as to whether Sportives are non-competitive or road races?

You don't have to have a racing licence or be a member of BC?

Anyone understand what's going on?

yello

It is my understanding that they are not races... neither officially, nor legally, nor organisationally (is there such a word?!).

But it is an odd one because they are timed, results are published in finishing order, riders will be out to 'win', or beat others, or better personal bests.... so perhaps they are races for all intents and purposes... just not officially??

RedBike

Sportives are NOT races. However, as pointed out, it's not uncommon for a rider to try a little harder than normal in order to get a good time.

Noodley

They are only races for those who decide they are - that way if you are faster than someone else you have beaten them, if you are slower then it was not a race :biggrin:

They are "races" for those not really fast enough to race...:tongue: and challenges without racing for those who are.

OP
OP
E

ExRacer

Thanks for putting me straight.

Those guys at BikeRadar are scary! I guess Newbies aren't so welcome over there. Glad to have found a home here. Thanks

OP
OP
E

ExRacer

Got to agree, the Sportive thread on BikeRadar is scary. If you don't agree with some of them, you get reported and then huge threads of posts get deleted. They seem to have their heads up British Cycling's ar*e for some reason, probably to do with this battle with Cyclosport.org for overall control of sportives.

I reckon it's gonna get nasty ...

Tim Bennet.

Entirely Average Member