So, this addiction...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

garethssmith

Now, I've mentioned before, I'm not technically a beginner, but a couple of years out of the saddle can certainly make you feel like one.

I'm surprised how easily I've fell back into the routine of cycling. I'm doing a minimum of 4 miles per day on a nursery run with my daughter attached and started pushing 20 mile rides too. The main surprise is that I'm averaging 14-14.5 mph on the longer rides. I might be becoming slightly ambitious but I've signed up to do Manchester-Blackpool and the Great Manchester Bike Ride next year which I think given my progress so far will be more than do-able.

Am I pushing my luck by (almost) committing to doing the 1st 2 TDF stages next summer too??

BigonaBianchi

Yes I can, Yes I am, Yes I did...Repeat.
Once you committ to anything it will happen.

@garethssmith
If your doing 20 miles @ 14+mph, you breeze Manchester-Blackpool next year. I started last June within two months I was doing 14+ speeds all be it on flattish roads, over the winter I concentrated on some climbing and general fitness, last Thur I did 37.5 miles in 2:32 with 53ft mile climbing.
I just did a quick route 47 miles with 1591 ft of climbing altogether, that works out to 34ft mile a lower rate than the quick 14 miles I did this aft.
Not sure if this would be the route you take, but I probably would.
http://ridewithgps.com/routes/3002446

Hill Wimp

Fair weathered,fair minded but easily persuaded.
Now, I've mentioned before, I'm not technically a beginner, but a couple of years out of the saddle can certainly make you feel like one.