Sora set up?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
Ok i am new to STI levers and the 2nd hand bike had no manual.I have looked at the shimano site and that does not tell me anything i did not know.

The questions i have are..

1 . What dos the barrel adjuster that is around the cable coming out of the sti lever do? does it actually adjust anything ?

2 What does the screw at the front do? i managed to find the reach adjuster but i have no idea what this does.

3. can you adjust the tension on the shifters so the click is more pronounced?

I am a complete newb to these shifters as the last time i had a raody they were still using suicide shifters and in the mean time got sued to twist shifters :smile:

Hi. Hope I'm answering this all properly. Think so, but anyone please chip in if there's other useful info.

1 . What dos the barrel adjuster that is around the cable coming out of the sti lever do? does it actually adjust anything?
This barrel adjuster is like using the adjuster down at the rear derailleur mech, and it can be rotated to take up more cable pull if the up-shifts aren't quite getting there enough / or vice-versa.

2 What does the screw at the front do? i managed to find the reach adjuster but i have no idea what this does.
That screw at the front holds it all together - just leave it well alone - kind of forgetaboutit. (Only exception is if the plastic front cap is so damaged that it needs replacing, that sort of thing).

3. can you adjust the tension on the shifters so the click is more pronounced? Not as far as I know.

Good luck.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
cyberknight said:

1 . What dos the barrel adjuster that is around the cable coming out of the sti lever do? does it actually adjust anything ?
Yes - they apply more or less tension to the cable.