Sore quads and how to help?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

grobinson09

So I am relatively new to cycling.
I started triathlon 18 months ago and completely fell in love with it, however, the cycling element was my least favourite. Knowing it is the longest stint of the event, and the area where a lot of time can be both gained and lost I realised I needed to change this. So this year's strategy is to cycle cycle cycle and fall in love with it and hopefully improve my tri times.
However, I am also driven by huge challenges, so having never cycled more than 15 miles before, back in September I decided I wanted to cycle John O'Groats to Lands End this August (2015) - stupid, maybe. But I have had all year to train and get use to my bike. There is no denying I have improved. But I still have a lot of work to do. My question, and why I am posting is that when I cycle 50+ miles i get a really deep set pain in both my quads. It feels like a build up of lactic acid that just doesnt go away but gets worse and deeper and pretty horrible. Getting off my bike, sitting, stretching, moving, hydrating, eating, fuelling, nothing helps.
I was wondering if any one else has experienced this? Or if any one has any suggestions on how to get rid of this problem.
I have had my bike properly fitted so I know it isn't that, and I hydrate well on rides and eat as well. Potentially I could eat more during my rides...but I can't imagine that would cause such pain in my quads?
My ride in August is averaging 70-80 miles a day for 12 days so I can't afford for this to happen... I have been training sensibly, doing 2-3 30 miles a week, and every two weeks a bigger ride of 60-70 miles, but come 50 miles the pain sets in. I have a pretty high pain threshold but it literally brings me to tears.
Please help....

My guess would be seat height, check that for a starter for 10 and see if raising the saddle by small increments makes a difference.

vickster