SPD-SL cleats - Floating v Non floating

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

livpoksoc

Guru
I have been using the yellow floating cleats for a couple of years now and am really disappointing at the wear rate on these cleats - particularly on my right foot which hits the floor at any junctions/lights etc.

I read a review on Wiggle of the red non floating which said they don't deteoriate at all, so can anyone who uses either red or yellow offer any guide as to if it's something I'm doing wrong using them or is it a fact of owning SPD-SL that the coloured rubber section will peel away over time?

I have been using cleatskins since December but obviously they don't protect the cleat when I have to stop mid ride (and as fate would have it, I lost one cleatskin from my pocket between the office & train station tonight!)

musa

Über Member
They will eventually wear out...

After a while I swap them over to even them out

accountantpete

Brexiteer
Walking in the cleats doesn't wear them out unless you walk on uneven ground and damage the centre of the cleat.

What does wear is the tip especially if the metal on the pedal has worn. This causes wear as the cleat swivels so Red might be better if you can stand your foot being in one position all the time.

OP
OP
livpoksoc

livpoksoc

Guru
Swap over to MTB-SPD. Your shoes will wear out before the cleats do.
I do have MTB SPD for my rockhopper & was considering changing the pedals out on my road bike so I only have the one pair of shoes/cleats to worry about, but really don't want to be shelling out silly money for an extra set of pedals I don't need, especially when I already have the pedals & shoes which are worth £150+

OP
OP
livpoksoc

livpoksoc

Guru
I'm getting
Walking in the cleats doesn't wear them out unless you walk on uneven ground and damage the centre of the cleat.