Specialized Secteur Sport Triple vs Giant Defy 3

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lemond

Hi all

I'm a second-time-around newbie, having not ridden a bike for a good 20 years or so. Boy, a lot has changed: Last time I went for a ride I had to remember to take a few 10p pieces for the phone box, in case of emergencies!

I'm riding London to Paris next July and am about to treat myself to a new bike. I've narrowed things down to either the Specialized Secteur Sport Triple or the Giant Defy 3, both of which have good reviews.

I'm leaning towards the Specialized as it scores well on comfort, plus it also features a triple chain set that should help when things head up hill.

I've been back in the saddle for three weeks and am currently riding 11 miles three times a week (Mon-Wed-Fri), and then slightly longer at the weekend. I plan to up the mileage steadily, without going nuts.

My question is: do you think I'll need the triple chain set in a year's time? Will it only really be of benefit to me in these early months as I get back into the swing of things?

Any opinions or advice would be welcomed.

Phixion

I wouldn't get a triple but my reasoning may be different to others.

I don't like that you have to shift through more gears at the front whilst shifting through the back to avoid having a wonky chain.

Plus, doubles look better (IMO).

videoman

Guru
I purchased four months ago a Trek Domane 2.0 and one of the main criteria for my bike was a triple chain set as I'll never be young fit and slim again, ever.

I suppose whether you'll need one next year is down to the individual and what sort of riding and type of terrain you anticipate cycling over but I know I will always need a triple where I ride as my fitness never to appears to improve that much.

Enjoy whatever you purchase.

Last edited:

SteCenturion

I am your Father
Hello & :welcome: from the Peoples Republic of Mancunia.