Stuck on big ring

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ellis

Guru
I have a Spesh Allez with sora gears, the chain is currently stuck on the big ring at the front it wont shift down to the small ring...

Cleaned it this morning and noticed the wire that runs from the shifter to the front derailler is very loose when i try to shift down to the small cog, should it be so loose (see pic)

Is there any easy way to fix this problem anything to do with the tension of the wire?

my.php

I'm no expert but I believe If the problem was other way round (ie stuck in the small ring) the lack of wire tension might be a problem as you generally on road bikes pull the wire tighter to shift the derailleur out to the large ring. My guess something is stuck in the limit screw mechanism/ the front derailleur needs re lubing or the low limit screw needs adjusted.

jimboalee

The mech is stuck.

Common problem if the mech pivots haven't been weatherproofed.

You will have to grab the mech and give it some elbow grease until it moves freely.

Take the bike to a filling station and blow any crud out of the pivots with the air hose while moving it with the changer, NOT your hand. 85 psi air can get through the skin.

Then give it a spray of something that lubes, but dries non sticky.
I use Mr Sheen wax polish.

Don't go fiddling with the limit screws, because they were set up by the LBS and will be in the correct position. They very, very, very rarely move.

andrew_s

Legendary Member
It could also be the cable getting stuck where it passes under the bottom bracket - eg cable guides packed full of mud.

Big John

Guru