Swapping components

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
After doing the Devon CC ride yesterday i've come away with new ideas (thanks to Chuffy) My touring bike which is a standard Ridgeback Panorama is to big for me and after chatting with Chuffy i quite fancy doing some of the Audax rides so my question is - if i buy an Audax frame can i just swap all the kit from my tourer onto it to get me started ? it seems like an ideal oppurtunity to get a bike with the correct size frame which i can still use for some light touring and audax rides

Simon

HJ

Cycling in Scotland
Yes.

OP
OP
Muddyfox

Muddyfox

Guru
Thank you HJ .. i'l start looking at Audax frames then
rolleyes.gif

Simon

HJ

Cycling in Scotland
I am no expert on Audax frames but this looks like good value...

Although it is probable a good idea at this stage to get your self measured up with some thing like Bike Fit and check the geometry is right for you, also it means you can get components which are the right size (bars, stem, cranks, etc) for you. After all if you are building a custom bike you might as well take the opportunity to make sure ever thing is the right size for you.

Bwahahahaha!!!! :evil:

Don't get too hung up on having a specific audax bike, you can audax on anything so long as it's comfy.

Having said that, there's this from Ribble which costs a ridiculous £86 (plus another £51 for the fork). :eek:

OP
OP
Muddyfox

Muddyfox

Guru
Bwahahahaha!!!! :evil:
Don't get too hung up on having a specific audax bike, you can audax on anything so long as it's comfy.

Whilst the Panorama is comfy it weighs in at around 30lb (my MTB is lighter) and the fact that its an XL frame, if i can get the correct size frame for me and have a bike that will cope with the type of small tours that i want to do and be lighter for some Audax rides then it seems like a win win situation .. i just need to convince Mrs Muddyfox of that now
wink.gif