Swimming training plan

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fimm

Veteran
I don't know of any free ones, though there's a website called "Beginner triathlete" which I believe might have something. I have no experience of it myself. If you can buy something, here's a couple of options:
http://www.swimsmooth.com/
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Swim-Workou...=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1329817209&sr=1-2

One other thing you could do is have a hunt on the TriTalk forums for some of the long swim threads as there are often really good tips for drills and sessions to do on them - but you will have to read your way through some longish threads to find them.

Flying_Monkey

Recyclist
Get a coach, go to a class or join a swim club. Seriously. You can train yourself all you like, but if you want to get better, especially technically, you need to have help. There is really no way around this.

Arsen Gere

Über Member
If I were you I'd make sure you get a chance to do an open water swim, in a wetsuit, with a bunch of other people as part of your training.
It is so different to being in a pool.
The first time I swam in a wetsuit it felt awful having my chest constrained in water I could not see the bottom in. It felt like I could not breath.

Then there are all those arms and legs and trying to sight where you are going. Best to get used to it so you don't panic on the day. You'll be fine though as you can just turn on your back in a wet suit, float a bit and then start again if you get a bit concerned.

One other tip, don't bother looking for a toilet just pee in your wet suit.

http://www.thelondontriathlon.co.uk/LTSwimZone.html

OP
OP
xxmimixx

xxmimixx

Get a coach, go to a class or join a swim club. Seriously. You can train yourself all you like, but if you want to get better, especially technically, you need to have help. There is really no way around this.