Time between Audax rides

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
I know there are a lot of variables to this question but I am new to cycling and am hoping to qualify for PBP this year.

I am 52, reasonably fit and bloody minded.

I hope to start training in the next couple of weeks by riding to work and home, 12 miles each way and rides at the weekend. Just to make it interesting I will be riding a Bacchetta Giro 26 and I have never ridden a recumbent 2 wheeler before.

I have to complete the qualifying rides quite quickly in order to apply to ride PBP.

The timetable now reads as follows:

200km 19th March
300km 2nd April
400km 21st April
600km 14th May

I realise that these rides are crammed in tight but there is obviously a deadline in order for me not miss the bus.

Any suggestions or comments are gladly welcomed.

Steve

zigzag

Veteran
steve, i think 24 miles every day is a good training distance as long as you go at full speed. this would increase your muscle power. for endurance i would do some longer and hilly rides on weekends, 100-200km, and ideally some overnight rides. longer rides require a lot of determination whether you are fast or slow, but being faster is more enjoyable.
i'll do my first qualifier this saturday and after two months off the bike it's not going to be easy..

lee: afaik you can do qualifying rides in any country, and the whole pbp registration and entry will be online

Randochap

Senior hunter
The time between those brevets is fine, but agree you need to get some distance in and throw in some hill work (you'll need that for PBP!)

If, as you mention, you are new to cycling, besides the physical training, you need to get plenty of other experience: night riding, bike maintenance, pacing, nutrition, etc. Read lots and talk to other riders. Check out sites like Audax UK, BC Randonneurs (big PBP section) and my humble site VeloWeb.

Bonne route!

yello