To much for first sportive?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Johnno260

Veteran
Hi I am tempted to try this in the new year, bear in mind I am an utter novice who has never club cycled or done any type of event.

Is this too much for a first time event?

https://www.velopace.com/SpringClassic2017

I am doing 20-25miles with a nice mix of climbs in a time I am happy with, but this is on a Hybrid, I am hoping to have a proper road bike sorted either soon, or the other side of Christmas.

Jimidh

Veteran
Link isn't working - how far is it?

You will surprise yourself how much you will improve if you get out regularly over the winter.

OP
OP
Johnno260

Johnno260

Veteran
it's 102 or 66km I am tempted by the 102 don't want to 1/2 job it!

I may ask the LBS if they will do me a deal on the bike if I buy and wear a shop jersey! :-)

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
No need for a new bike, the one in your profile pic looks perfect to me. I have a selection of bikes including 2 roadbikes but still often choose the hybrid for long rides depending on weather and what I want to carry on the day. Did 185 miles in a day with two panniers on my hybrid a few weeks ago.

You will also be amazed at how the thrill of the day and riding with other cyclists (I don't mean draughting or chaingangs, just simply being on the road with other riders doing the same thing) will draw you along and the miles will pass much easier than they do when riding alone. Just make sure you ride at a pace you are comfortable with and don't try to keep up with some Jonny Rocket on a mission!

OP
OP
Johnno260

Johnno260

Veteran
No need for a new bike, the one in your profile pic looks perfect to me. I have a selection of bikes including 2 roadbikes but still often choose the hybrid for long rides depending on weather and what I want to carry on the day. Did 185 miles in a day with two panniers on my hybrid a few weeks ago.