Took another "plunge" don't want to drown.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ian A

Über Member
I started learning to swim front crawl in 2010 (ages 32 at the time) at my local pool in an adult group lesson, then joined the swimming club my children are members of when they started masters sessions. I could only swim 4 lengths front crawl without gassing when I joined. I'd always put being so exhausted at swimming a couple of lengths down to poor technique and breathing, which was the major factor in it, but there is an element of intensity too. Swimming is a different type of exercise and it takes time to adapt. The best thing I did to improve was to join the club and then build up to three club sessions a week between a swim club and tri club. The improvements came quickly and if you can train with a club I can't recommend it enough. If the club offers technique session even better. Our tri club offers technique specific lessons in small groups in five week blocks for the same cost as a normal club swim session in a dedicated lane. It is used to help swimmers improve and also for coaches to work towards the next level coaching qualification. These are really popular with club members.

For open water swimming some clubs or venues offer beginners sessions. My first open water swim was also my first triathlon but I was at the back and swimming breast stroke so not really a problem. If you plan on doing an open water tri and can swim front crawl it's definitely worth practising in advance for sighting, swimming in a group etc.

Didn't enjoy swimming as a kid much and could only really do breast stroke and backstroke before my parents let me quit lessons. Now I love it. Hated running XC as a kid too. As an adult it's my favourite type of running ^_^. I think I've just given you my life story but there's some tips in there somewhere :rolleyes:.

Last edited:

Tin Pot

Guru
Take some tips to avoid dying;