Torque wrench anyone?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alp1950

How important is it to use a torque wrench when tightening bolts etc on a carbon bike? Thinking specifically about fitting carbon seat post. Had conflicting advice from different bike shops: one says essential; the other (a large usually reputable chain) don't even have a torque wrench in their service area.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
If it's just a carbon post in a non carbon frame then fine - just use common sense - i.e. don't over do it !

youngoldbloke

The older I get, the faster I used to be ...
I always use one ........for seat post, stem, bars, pedals, chainring bolts etc etc etrc - basically follow the manufacturers recommendations (and I have been putting bikes together for getting on for 50 years now).

ultraviolet

it can't rain all the time....
i think the main problem with using a torque wrench is that most people will read on a stem or seatclamp say "5 n" and set there wrench to click out at 5 newtons, so every one of there bolts is tighten up to the very max, i didn't think this is very good. how meny people set there torque wrench to a lower setting than stated on said part? i doubt very many who are not in the business

e-rider

crappy member
To get a decent low range torque wrench you'll be looking at £150+

A cheap one will be worse than not using one at all - just use your head and don't over-tighten bolts!

Fiona N

Veteran
I was quite surprised that the guys at Paul Hewitt's cycles in Leyland used a torque wrench for all the key places - stem, seat post etc. When I thought about it a bit, I was actually less surprised as my experience as a little weak girly (perhaps not :blush:) is that men do tend to tighten any nut, bolt or screw up to the max. Witness the extreme difficulty I have getting pedals off if they've been put on by a bike shop mechanic - quite unnecessarily tight.