Total noob here

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kies

Pick a circular route around home for the first few weeks. That way you can bail out at any point and return home quickly. It also gives you a set distance you can measure your progress on.
Find a quiet carpark and learn to ride slowly, without putting your foot down. Excellent for developing bike control as you start to fly :-)

Boon 51

Veteran
A good saddle set at the right height, padded shorts, and if its a road bike you might need to get a 32 rear cassette if your doing some hill riding.
Dont forget your mobil phone and always keep a tenner somewhere as you never know?

Sports Direct isn't bad for their jerseys and things, I'm a large fella and they suit me fine, however I agree with those above about padded stuffs, spend the money where you can afford it. Cheap is not always best, especially when doing distances.

I second the "enjoy your ride" comments, don't hoof it if you don't have to, just pace yourself and enjoy the ride.

Additionally, don't overspend on your budget, and don't panic if you can't buy something immediately, there are always alternatives. I ride in cheap joggers and a t-shirt, and during winter I use a Sports Direct "Karrimore" running top for warmth, perfect for my usage, and keeps me arm with a little ventilation too.
After nearly 2 years of riding, I've only just changed to SPD pedals, and as I'm able to buy smaller clothes (and doing events), I'm buying padded bits to ensure my comfort for the distances.

Mykchamp

Really useful thread this. I haven't ridden for a good 10 years since my teens and chose to get a bike through cycle to work and hand my car in. Can't wait for my certificate to come through so I can get my new pride and joy! Does anyone cycle to work? What advice have you got in terms of ensuring you look smart when you arrive at work and aren't a sweaty creased smelly mess?!