tour of belgium....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jifdave

rubbish uphill, downhill 'balast' make me fast
So just switched over and saw tommy voeckler crash....

His own bottle fell out of cage and jammed his back wheel.... weird way to crash...

montage

God Almighty

His own bottle fell out of cage and jammed his back wheel.... weird way to crash...

Good. Karma for trying to ruin the TdF with stupid faces

That's too bad, this must be his first race since he busted his collarbone, hope le chouchou bounces back soon. There are some pretty good riders in this race too, Cancellara, Roelandts, Griepel et al.

RWright

Guru

I just this evening read an article at bikeradar.com that was dated about a month ago, titled Cancellara calls for "dangerous" water bottle design to be changed. I am new to following cycling races and this is probably old news, but it seems he got hurt last year when he ran over one himself.

deptfordmarmoset

Full time tea drinker
I just this evening read an article at bikeradar.com that was dated about a month ago, titled Cancellara calls for "dangerous" water bottle design to be changed. I am new to following cycling races and this is probably old news, but it seems he got hurt last year when he ran over one himself.
It was a freak accident while boneshaking along on a pavé section and I don't think a different bottle design would have changed things much. It looked a painful fall though.

oldroadman

Veteran
Good. Karma for trying to ruin the TdF with stupid faces
It may be meant as a joke, but it's a poor one.
Tommy rides for all to see the effort, which I am happy to see in contrast to some of the poker faces of the past. Someone who rides with his heart maybe more than his head, and the peloton needs characters.
A freak crash and painful as well. These are the ones which hurt the most and often cause (yet another) collar bone to go, or worse.