towing trailers

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi my name's Iain & I'm after a trailer so I can take my trike around the country. She's a big girl so a bike rack would be no good. I've no experience with towing trailers nor am I knowledgeable about so any help is appreciated. I don't want one bigger than I need as my trike is already around 8FT with the box on (front to back wheel approx 7FT)
75065_10151429857844136_682180949_n.jpg

I don't want to spend a fortune if I can could I get away with using something as compact as this?

Attachments

• $(KGrHqN,!jUFDqhRR46VBQ7)4itJcw~~60_35.JPG
    $(KGrHqN,!jUFDqhRR46VBQ7)4itJcw~~60_35.JPG
    23.8 KB · Views: 122

Night Train

Maker of Things
You can get a small motor bike trailer to do what you want. As it is a trike you will need to either have a flat bed on the trailer or have three tracks lined up with the wheels.
You might be able to get away without ramps or a tilting trailer as you can, if you are able, lift your trike onto the trailer. If not then a means of rolling the trike up will be important.
A small manual/electric winch on the front of the trailer will make the job easier if you have any disability that makes the job awkward.

You could build a trailer, if you have some fabricating skills, or get one built for you, depending on your budget. The trailer will have to meet certain legal requirements for dimensions and lighting. It won't need brakes as it is unlikely to be over 750kg, or the kerb weight of your towing car.
I have four trailers, one is currently on the road, one needs wheel bearings, one needs a spring and the other is still in my workshop. I built three of them and the forth is only for my tractor.
I also build trailers to tow behind bikes.