training for 150 km / 14 hour event with 10 h max for training ride per day

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mexico86

Hi all, I'm a bit of a newbie regarding training and would like to get some advice.

For the last several months I've been training for 2 ultramarathon mountain bike events 6 weeks from now, one is the 90 km (2200 m of ascent) Mêda 100 and the other is the 140 km (3400 m of ascent) Bairrada 150. I have zero chance of getting anywhere near the podium, but my objective is to finish both events within the time limits.

At present, my training rides have topped-out at roughly 90 km with 2200 m of ascent, because it's difficult to find time for longer training rides. I can probably get permission from the wife to do a few even longer rides so I can test whether my endurance / fitness is high enough to have a good chance of completing the 140 km event. I know people say the distance you train should be about two thirds the distance of your target event, but I would like to be sure I can complete the full distance before I pay the entrance fee.

Are there any better alternatives I should consider doing? Would riding 2 days back to back for a total of 150 km be as good a test of my fitness as riding 150 km in a single day?

You'll do just fine on the training you've done.

S-Express

because it's difficult to find time for longer training rides

Bit confused by this, as in the title you say you have 10hrs a day to train? Pros will only ride 5 or 6 hours per day in the winter build up, so I would have thought 10hrs was plenty.

Tin Pot

Guru
How long is the swim and the run?

Also you're missing 30km from the bike.

;)

I do from ten to twenty hours training for ironman, *per week*.

You're misunderstanding endurance training by thinking you have to be able to do the whole distance before you enter the event. It's pretty backwards if you think it through.

toontra

Veteran