Trikes on cycleways

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tongsheng

Tongsheng
Hi everybody, I'm new to trikes and was wondering how compatible they are with cycleways and and narrow walkways. I know the paths are meant to be 1m wide to accommodate trailers and buggies but have been told a couple of routes are not up to scratch and maintained badly by cash strapped councils. Exactly how much of a problem is this and are gates and canals an issue? I have done a bit of offloading on my KMX Cobra and had to sling it upside down on my head from time to time but cant imagine it being so easy when fully loaded. Any help would be appreciated and my first NCN route i have planned are probably seven in central Scotland or one taking in the east coast. Anyway if anybody knows of any dodgy gates or easy go around etc please give me a shout. Thanks in advance John

numbnuts

Legendary Member
I only have one bad cycle path in my area... yes that thing on the left is a cycle path :rolleyes:

So I don't use it.
A few gates are a wee bit narrow as I need 32 inches plus.
Southampton council put a cycle path in to the city at the start of Covid, I tried it too narrow, it has now been removed :smile:

HMS_Dave

Grand Old Lady
You'll be lifting it a fair bit your council likes to install them ridiculous chicane barriers that are designed to keep motor vehicles off a particular route, for the one in a million that try it...

OP
OP
Tongsheng

Tongsheng

Tongsheng