Trouble shifting after upgrade.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

adamfoul

Hi, I’d like to start by saying I’m pretty new to road bikes, but have used a MTB for commuting, and I’m used to doing the basics such as cable changes, indexing and adjustment.
I’ve recently picked up a 2nd hand Specialized Allez sport, I think the 2011 version. I decided switch the shifters from the sora 3400 to 3500, as I didn’t like the thumb levers. Grabbed some 3500 shifters off eBay, and I’m having trouble with the front shifting.
Going up, it clicks once and the mech moves a little to the right, but not changing the gear, if I push it in again, the mech moves enough to shift into the top ring, but there is no click, and letting go of the lever the mech moves back again and it drops into the lower ring. I’m confident it’s not too much cable tension, as it won’t ‘click’ even with very low, or no tension at all on the cable.
Is there something I’m missing? Or is it likely a problem with the shifter itself?
Any help much appreciated.

Video showing problem. (I know the shift is clunky, derailleur cage needs adjusting slightly)

In my experience it could possibly be just cable tension. If you push the lever to the large chainwheel position and then pull on the cable manually( assuming exposed cables) you should see it move further, from what you are saying. All you need to do is adjust the barrel adjuster on the down cable on the frame. If you can`t get enough adjustment with that then you will need to pull more cable through at the clamp on the FD. If it was OK with the old shifters then I would say it is unlikely to be stop adjustment. Hope this helps.

boydj

Legendary Member
Having just replaced the 105 front mech on my bike, what I have found is :
1. The height of the mech need to be as low as possible while allowing it to clear the big ring on the upshift.