Trying to choose a MTB on a budget. Opinions please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bone Cruncher

So I've been searching so hard for a bike I've literally given myself a headache. I've set a budget of up to £250.
I was initially set on a new bike from halfords, a carrera vengeance for £216. Then I thought about going second hand so I'd get better spec for my money. I was looking at a used Saracen Mantra for £250. You can get them for £400 new, it says RRP 600 but I take that with a pinch of salt.

I'm fairly new to this stuff, but a few differences I notice is it has hydraulic brakes, it appears to be much the same fork but with lockout? a few more gears. Probably other stuff I don't know much about. They both weigh about 14kg. Thoughts?

Decathlon BTwin Rockrider is another in that price bracket. Make sure you get the right size, not too big.
What kind of riding is it for?

Kajjal

Guru
With a bit of luck you could get a good condition , used voodoo bizango if you are confident buying used. They retail at around £600 and plenty of reviews on line.

Drago

Legendary Member
Steer clear of anything with a Suntour XC, XCR, or XCM fork. They have all the springing qualities of a damp cup cake, and weigh so much even Isambard Kingsom Brunel would be impressed.

At the bottom end of the market that does limit you somewhat, but they are genuinely hideous devices.

OP
OP
B

Bone Cruncher

Decathlon BTwin Rockrider is another in that price bracket. Make sure you get the right size, not too big.
What kind of riding is it for?
Looks nice, it's not local though so I can't try it. I want it for mostly off road riding, woods, pathways etc.

Absolutely not what you think you want, but a billy-bargain, and something you could add value to, and which will help you learn much about MTB riding. The hills and terrain were the same in those days ^_^

https://forum.cyclinguk.org/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=131589
Vintage, nice.