Turbo trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JozeeB

Regular
OK before I start.... 1) I'm a beginner-ish 2) I'm a girl (don't get too techie!) and 3) I'm a 'fair weather cyclist' :sun: (I know, I know some of you think those 3 words should not be in the same sentence!)
So, I'm already fed up of the lack of cycling weather during our lovely summer:rain: , so not looking forward to the winter months at all:headshake: . Considering a turbo trainer and wondered what the general thoughts on these are and any recommendations?
Want to keep the fitness up, but not a great fan of the gym any more.

Lol I would expect to see all those in one sentence.
Anyhow, I think with a turbo the main factors are noise and boredom (I can only base my experience in a Magnetic Taxc Speedmatic).
I could be wrong but I think the wind resistance types (the mechanism used to pedal against, I hope thats non techie) is the noisiest, magnetic resistance trainers are next noisiest and the fluid resistance types are relatively quiet.
Turbos can be boring, I like to use an mp3 and mix it up (climb, sprint) and target distances rather than times to keep me amused; others like to use thing like sufferfest videos.
Oh and they make you sweat, riding indoors rather than moving air cooled, and you might need something to protect the frame/floor.

Powely

I'm a beginner too and I've recently borrowed a trainer from a friend and it's a magnetic type and it is noisy. Whilst it's good, it's doesn't compare to being out on your bike and I could foresee it becoming boring. Do you know anyone with a trainer you could try before you buy? It certainly helped me.

OP
OP
JozeeB

JozeeB

Regular
Lol I would expect to see all those in one sentence.
Anyhow, I think with a turbo the main factors are noise and boredom (I can only base my experience in a Magnetic Taxc Speedmatic).