Tyre replacement question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sambo241

Regular
Good morning.

I have a question regarding tyre replace on my bike.

It currently has a rear wheel puncture. The tyre is a tubeless one. They are maxxis overdrive excel 700x35mms. I have looked at a replacement tyre but none are in stock at 35mm width, but I can get 32mm. I have tried for the 35s with no avail. So, my questionis is;

Is the 700x32mm tyre width compatible with the set up with it being 3mm less in width (same diamater)?

I'm hoping the slight drop in width wouldn't pose much if any a problem. But I'm new to cycling so please bear with me if this is a stupid question.

Any help will be much appreciated!

Thank you

geocycle

Legendary Member
Welcome! There are a number of questions arising from your post, for example whether the hole in your tubeless could be plugged if the sealant wasn’t enough. However, to answer your question, running a slightly narrower tyre will not make much if any difference. For example I currently have 28mm on the front and and 25 mm on the rear.

Reactions: C R

Ajax Bay

Guru
:welcome: What sort of sealant did you use in the tyre, Stans? Pop some more in, swill around and reinflate.
Otherwise, just put a tube in; and ride on (@geocycle has expressed surprise you can't just mend the Maxxis tubeless).
If has to be new tyre I'd go for a different make and stick with a 622-35 tubeless or not tyre with similar grip/tread character.
Need to check that any tubeless tyre you choose is compatible with the rim. Your Local Bike Shop is your friend I'd say, on the basis of your OP.

figbat

Slippery scientist