Ultegra Bottom Bracket comparsion

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

iWizKid

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here, and got a question that hopefully not a silly one.

I've got the entry level of Special Allez 16, wanting to change the BB, but not sure if it's English or Italian thread, is there anyway of finding this out?

2ndly, I want to change it to ultegra, is there any different between 6700 and 6600 model? any recommendation of which one I should go for?? Cheers

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here, and got a question that hopefully not a silly one.

I've got the entry level of Special Allez 16, wanting to change the BB, but not sure if it's English or Italian thread, is there anyway of finding this out?

2ndly, I want to change it to ultegra, is there any different between 6700 and 6600 model? any recommendation of which one I should go for?? Cheers

From the spec on the evans site it says Bottom Bracket: Cr-Mo axle, 68mm x 113mm

If it is 68mm then that means it is an English thread. Italian is 73 mm

I don't know the answer to question no 2 though but I am sure someone else will be along soon

OP
OP
I

iWizKid

From the spec on the evans site it says Bottom Bracket: Cr-Mo axle, 68mm x 113mm

If it is 68mm then that means it is an English thread. Italian is 73 mm

I don't know the answer to question no 2 though but I am sure someone else will be along soon

Ah, I c. Thanks!

4F

OK they other thing to consider is that the shimano 2300 is a square taper bottom bracket so you need a bottom bracket that it is compatible with your chainset otherwise you will have to replace that at the same time. I don't believe that the ultegra BB's that you mention will work.

4F

If the BB is still working then I would leave it as it is as to be honest you won't notice any difference just by replacing that part.