ultegra V.S dura ace

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

young Ed

Veteran
am looking at saving the pennies to treat her to a ultegra or dura ace front mech and after that maybe the brakes
i believe the dura ace is the better of the 2? is it really worth spending that much more on the dura ace over the ultegra? considering i am no pro! and am not racing
the mech needs to cover 3 chainrings
is it that much better than say the cheaper 105?
oh and here i am talking all standard plain mechanical no leccy :sad:
Cheers Ed

AndyPeace

I don't see what you will gain replacing your front mech? If your not racing the split second you will gain from having more positive shifting will be wasted.

OP
OP
young Ed

young Ed

Veteran
I don't see what you will gain replacing your front mech? If your not racing the split second you will gain from having more positive shifting will be wasted.
current one is on shelf due to many many hrs of fiddling and it will never run great all the way through every gear combination and ultegra or durace will shift smoother and better
Cheers Ed

FYI, Ultegra is the last generation Dura Ace, 105 is the last generation Ultegra, Tiagra is the old 105, etc, etc, etc,

It's called the trickle down effect. If you can afford to buy DA and are happy to do so, fill your boots. If not then buy Ultegra, 105 or even Tiagra.

OP
OP
young Ed

young Ed

Veteran
FYI, Ultegra is the last generation Dura Ace, 105 is the last generation Ultegra, Tiagra is the old 105, etc, etc, etc,

It's called the trickle down effect. If you can afford to buy DA and are happy to do so, fill your boots. If not then buy Ultegra, 105 or even Tiagra.
i see so rather then ditch the last gen they introduce the new gen and then call the last gen a lower name