Umm hello!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

beetlebug

Hi. I'm Becka. I use a lot of other forums but haven't used a cycling forum for a while, mainly because I haven't cycled a lot recently. However I am climbing Ventoux in July and am in serious training for it so thought I'd hang out with some other riders in an attempt to motivate myself. And dig for info. And to avoid climbing back on the turbo...!

I used to do a lot of audax rides but they stopped when I had my boy 7 years ago. I'm keen to start again tho, once I can teach him how to ride a bike..! I try and commute to work at least 3 times a week (it's only 5 miles each way so no biggie). But I don't like riding in Bradford much :becool: Especially not during rush hour!!

I've been riding for about 10 years now, commuting for most of that time but just haven't had time to get out and about more at the weekends. Plan Ventoux calls for some serious miles in my legs tho. The last mountain climbs I did properly were in 2001 (loads of Cols in the Pyrenees) so whilst I have experience of doing this type of ride I haven't done it for a looooooooong time. I have 18 weeks tho. And counting. Help!!!

B

shippers

Bradford is horrible, but it's only a short ride to some nice, hilly places! There's a few round West Yorks- you missed a ride from the top end of leeds up to Bolton Abbey a couple of weeks ago back. Sounded good, if you like that sort of thing. (I missed out after taking a bit of a tumble...)

Anyway, most people here seem ok, just avoid contentious subjects- should we wear helmets, for example.

Oh, Hi, by the way.

bauldbairn

Welcome to the CC forums Becka(Beetlebug). :biggrin:

Good luck with the Ventoux challenge and the rest of your cycling. :ohmy:

All the best.

Keith Oates

Janner