University project - help needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mart0203

Hi, i am a transport design student currently studying at the university of Huddersfield and have been given a brief with the aim to of designing a range of products for cyclists and urban commuters for the brand Oakley, and was hoping you could help me out by taking the time to answer a few questions listed below, all help is much appreciated and thanks in advance.

• What is the reason behind you making a journey on a bicycle?
  • How long does your journey take on average?
  • What are the main problems you encounter on your journey?
  • How would you improve your journey if you could?

Thanks again in advance for your help.

Sandra6

Veteran
What is the reason behind making a journey by bike?
There are three reasons behind me getting the bike - firstly I need to get somewhere (work, the shops) secondly if I want to get somewhere - next town along, relatives, the park, and thirdly if I feel I need the exercise and want to burn the calories.

How long does a journey take?
Depends where I'm going, regular trips to work and the shops are five to ten minutes for the mile or two I go. If I'm cycling for fun or fitness then I'll go 20 miles or so and it can take up to two hours depending on how hilly the route is and how fit I'm feeling!

Main problems I encounter?
Cars trying to occupy the same space as me. Bugs flying in my face and mouth bluergh. Hills!

How would I improve my journey??
That's a tricky one, it depends. Some days I improve the journey by cycling an extra five miles, sometimes I want to improve the journey by having warmer hands. Mostly I want to improve the journey by having a better bike!

Arsen Gere

Über Member
  • What is the reason behind you making a journey on a bicycle? Travelling to work, training for triathlons, pleasure.
  • How long does your journey take on average? 45 mins