Used or New - Not sure which bike to buy?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi everyone

I am just getting back to cycling and looking to get fit after COVID due to gaining a few pounds :-)

I will be commuting 6 miles round trip daily in London and my budget is £200-500. I prefer a hybrid and like a comfortable ride, but don't mind a road bike with drop bars. Shall i .....

1) Buy a New bike that has warranty from decathlon, Halfords etc
2) Buy a used bike from gumtree ebay etc might be better quality parts etc from a name brand

I have found the following 2 bikes online

https://www.evanscycles.com/brand/coyote/origin-hybrid-bike-933060

https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...ke-2020---black---s-m-l-xl-frames-346198.html

Can someone give me some advice? Especially if i go down the used route, how to make sure i am not buying a stolen rusty bike as i am not an expert, maybe link me to checklist of what to look form when meeting up with the gumtree seller? Any brands, quality to look for etc

Hope someone can help

Cheers
londoncylist007

Deeble

Regular
I'm in the same boat. As some may have seen i had a mechanical nightmare and I'm now on the hunt for a new bike. Like London cyclist I don't know if I'm best going brand new but entry level or second hand.

The bikes that I'm looking at are the Evans Pinnacle Laterite for £400, the carrera vanquish disk at £450 or a second hand used Bergamont Carbon bike for £500. What would anybody recommend?

Another option i have is a repair job, new frame and new derailleur then transferring all the other parts. Not sure how much that will cost.

Deeble

Regular
I think its a Bergamont Dolce Ltd 2013 but not 100% sure I can find out, I know the seller.

I have all the other parts from a 2011 Basso Devil. I have a thread in the mechanical section showing which parts are damaged.

vickster

Legendary Member
Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
https://www.wiggle.co.uk/basso-devil-xenon-2011