Utilising Zwift's programmes for serious weight loss

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

livpoksoc

Guru
I've been using Zwift for a few months now as our club's rides have gone virtual amid lockdown. Wanting to get more out of it, is there a way to use the training section for serious weight loss? By serious I mean a few stone over the year, combining better diet with a proper training programme. I have tried reading on Zwift Insider and Zwift's own site, but they tend to be focussed at the already lean cyclists looking to shed the Christmas pounds, rather than a sustained programme for what I'm looking for.

Even if there isn't a structured programme on Zwift for this, what sort of programmes should I try and string together myself to structure around my week?

Partially depends on how much time you want to spend each week on Zwift.

If you have time, something like the 12-Week FTP Builder would be a good place to start perhaps and is 3-5 workouts per week.

You can compare the various programmes at WhatsonZwift as well as the flexible training plans. If you're time-short, go for one that has a greater percentage of time in Zones 3+. If you've got the time for more endurance, take a plan with more green and blue :okay:

If you take one of the 2-3 rides-per-week plans, you could throw in a race or two on the off days if you fancy it. I've been on Zwift since December 2015 and am embarassed to say I've only just got into racing (as opposed to group rides, which turn into races anyway and which I've always done). If you're remotely competitive then a short Crit City race is a brilliant workout, and nothing to be intimidated by.

And remember, the workouts scale with your FTP so test regularly!

Dan77

I've lost 12kg since July without changing my diet which isn't the best.