Vintage holdsworth Racer with badge

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BexsiG

Regular
Hello

I have acquired my grandfather’s (he is now aged 93) holdsworth Racer with badge and original components. I’d like to do it up either to sell as I don’t have the space or most likely keep for my son. Where do I start and are there any books/ sites you can recommend so I know what cleaning products to use / not use I am a complete novice to restoration . Thank you

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
Can you post a few pictures, including the frame lugs? If you can find the frame number (usually on a rear dropout) this will also help. Then we can at least tell you what it is.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
If you just want to price it go on eBay and look for similar bikes to see what they go for. Alternatively advertise it on here but be warned we're a notoriously mean lot.
A few pics on here would elicit a few stabs at a price. I should just give it a clean, many enthusiasts like a project.

Last edited:

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
If you just want to price it go on eBay and look for similar bikes to see what they go for. Alternatively advertise it on here but be warned we're a notoriously mean lot.

I prefer the term realistic. It's January, when the post-Xmas financial hangovers kick in for many people, the weather isn't great, and old steel bikes are generally not fetching good prices anyway unless they are something really out of the ordinary. Just because you may see vintage sports bikes listed on eBay at high prices doesn't mean this is what they will actually sell at. Even if you search for sold listings, that still doesn't tell the full story. I recently bought a full Reynolds 531 throughout frame project for less than the start bid price, by making the seller an offer, but if you were to do a sold item search it would give the impression the price achieved was the start price, when it was actually less than that.