Weekend touring

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am looking to do a weekend tour and thinking of doing Glastonbury to Weymouth.thinking of using youth hostels and b&b.
I have never done touring before, would that be to much for a first tour ? Or would I be better doing shorter tour.
Regards Iain

Gretah65

As the ad says: just do it. My first solo tour was part of the Loire a velo...what a blast. Two weeks all on my lonesome. I can't wait to go back and finish it this Summer.

Mark Grant

Acting Captain of The St Annes Jombulance.
Go for it and enjoy.
I did my first tour last year, (see my sig below for a link to my 'Crazy guy' journal) I had intended to do a weekend tour first but it never happened. I'm just trying to decide on this years tour.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Iain,

You may also like to look at :

Warmshowers.com

Couchsurfers

Hostelworld.com

Three sites I have used in the past and all very good.

Steve

rollinstok

Go for it and best of luck. Maybe I,m just a grumpy old git but hostels are sometimes too noisy for me. Much prefer to camp or b&b.

Not a bad choice for a first time weekend, and a nice milage as well, Just go for it, I always tour by myself, and never find any shortage of Peeps to chat with when I stop for a break. once you have a idea of your final route, put it on here, then peeps can tell you if there are places or roads to avoid. Looking at the Map I see if need be you have a railway line which runs most of the way back towards your start point, which is always a nice backup to have if things go pear shaped.

Brommyboy

Über Member
My experience of YHA is that pre-booking is essential as many hostels are closed to members when school parties are in residence! Other than that, just get on the bike and pedal into enjoyment.

rollinstok