what's the crack with tubeless tyres?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

02GF74

Über Member
as it say in post.

anyone have experience with tubeless tyres and p*ures?

1. are they harder to get onto the rim since they need to be tight sealing?
2. are they harder to pump using a small pump since they rely on rim sealing - car tyres need a load of air so they seat properly to seal?
3. presumably p*tures are fixed by patching the inside of the tyre - is that easy to do? how do you find the hole if you cannot blow the tyre up like an inner tube in a bucket of water?
4. can tubed tyres be fitted to tubeless rims? and are they easier to fit over the rim?
5. do they use some special rim tape? otherwise how are they sealed for the spoke holes?

any other info. appreciated.

thx.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
Some good info here;

http://www.mtbbritain.co.uk/tubeless_tyres.html

I have some vague knowledge of them from the Interbike stuff I've read, Hutchinson are introducing them for road riding.

gavintc

Guru
You need special wheels sold as 'tubulars' although I was scanning the net recently and have noticed some manufacturers are now selling a wheel that can take clinchers and tubs. The tyre comes as a complete package with the inner combined. You glue the tyre onto the rim. Punctures demand that you carry some glue and a complete tub tyre - somewhat heavier than carrying an inner tube. For this reason, they are much more popular as race tyres when you have the comfort of a car carrying the spare wheel. The overall package is lighter than a clincher wheel. For general riding and training, clinchers are just so much easier to use.

I once followed a club mate who had fitted a new tub in the wet. The glue had not taken properly and his tyre was starting to lift making it a very uncomfortable ride home.

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist