Where do i begin....(in all senses!)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joel Bailey

Student looking to take up cycling but have no idea really as to where to start. Im a 19 year old student looking to take up cycling to a) get out b) get fit and c) just have a new hobby. As I'm a student my funds for a bike are limited and if not nil for the near future. Heres what i have, a full size suspension mountain bike from my younger teenage days where i use to cycle to friends out on the local common. At university down in bristol and hope to build by distances up to ideally 50 miles a day or so. As I'm not massively familiar with the area is there anywhere people can share good bike routes?

Just any general introductions and pointers to cycling would be greatly appreciated.

Thank

MissTillyFlop

Evil communist dictator, lover of gerbils & Pope.
Student looking to take up cycling but have no idea really as to where to start. Im a 19 year old student looking to take up cycling to a) get out b) get fit and c) just have a new hobby. As I'm a student my funds for a bike are limited and if not nil for the near future. Heres what i have, a full size suspension mountain bike from my younger teenage days where i use to cycle to friends out on the local common. At university down in bristol and hope to build by distances up to ideally 50 miles a day or so. As I'm not massively familiar with the area is there anywhere people can share good bike routes?

Just any general introductions and pointers to cycling would be greatly appreciated.

Thank

If you want to do long distances, I wouldconider selling the suspension bike, as it will get uncomfortable and get a cheapy second hand jobby off ebay, maybe?

Pauluk