Where have all the kids gone?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cathryn

Legendary Member
I'm studying early childhood education these days (training to be a preschool teacher) and there was some discussion of this phenomenon - kids learn gross motor skills by watching older kids and they're no longer being exposed to that. In addition, those social skills like negotiation and compromise and leadership aren't being practised either. It's pretty grim.

My little boy's only 5 so I'm not going to let him run wild in the streets (even though our streets are pretty safe) but he's not stuck in front of a screen...he's playing with friends most of the time.

OP
OP
I like Skol

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
I've only just grown out of setting fire to things and smashing windows.

Does that count?
I was at a 50th birthday party on Saturday night and when the night started to cool down the other revellers were very impressed with the ease and speed with which I lit the chiminea with just newspaper, wood and the flame from a tealight candle. Who said it was a wasted youth, I refrained from smashing all the windows :whistle:

My little boy's only 5 so I'm not going to let him run wild in the streets (even though our streets are pretty safe) but he's not stuck in front of a screen...he's playing with friends most of the time.
I keep trying to convince my 12yr old to organise a few mates and go out on a cycling expedition to see how far they can get. He has great road sense and is a good cyclist. He would be fine if only I could get him to organise it himself.

nickyboy

Norven Mankey