Where to start (total noob)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pepecat

I always take something to drink - even if it's only a quick 6-7 mile spin of an evening. If the ride's that short, i'll only take water, but if i'm doing anything upwards of about 10/15 miles or so, i'll take watered down fruit juice, or squash or, for really long rides of 40/50 miles and more (especially when hot) high five zero.

It's not so much feeling thirsty with me, but more that i seem to get a dry mouth very quickly, so a mouthful of fluid every now and again stops that. I think people's bodies probably all work in slightly different ways and are affected by how fit you are, how hard you ride, what the weather's like etc. Find what works best for you and stick to it - don't be swayed by what other people do or don't do. I drink more than some on a ride, and less than others, but it's ok for me, so i stick with that.

VamP

Banned
Robert clearly has one view. I disagree with it. I take water or High5 Zero on any ride over about 45 mins. Nice to have sip once in a while. If you don't have it you can't drink it. I take some water on a 10 mile TT and in an Ironman bike ride I get through gallons of sports drink. (about 5-6 bottles)

So Mushroomgodmat, tkae something to drink, perhaps a snack, build up mileages slowly, and enjoy yourself

I'm with Robert on this. You need to lose 2% of bodyweight in dehydration to register a measurable impact on performance. That's a lot of liquid, and there is no way you will sweat that in 1 hour, no matter how hot/hard you ride.

I take electrolytes with me on rides over an hour, though it often comes back undrunk, and some food on rides over 2 hours, though it often comes back with me uneaten.

You must be pretty unique at 10 mile TTs with water. I would resent the time out of the tuck to drink. Not to mention the aerodynamic disadvantage of carrying a bottle along :blush:

Fiona N

Veteran